Month: December 2009

  • Good-bye, 2009. Hello, 2010.

    In January, I wrote a post about my outlook on the new year. I’d like to share that with you, as well as my present thoughts on the months that have passed …

    Sit back and reflect on the beginnings, instead of overly-anticipating the end.
    It will come; just enjoy the road that is taking you there.

    Me, now: Being pregnant is the first time that I’ve been able to separate my anxieties about the future from living in the present. I don’t worry too much about the birth, where the extra money will come from or what he’ll be like as a toddler. No, I just take it day by day, and make sure that I’m healthy for the both of us. In the end, that’s all you can do, because it’s all you can control.

    Learn to let go.
    Grieving is fine,  but know it’s okay to move forward.

    Me, now: This piece of advice came in handy more times than I can count. It got me through some of the worst times in my life, and helped me move forward to some of the best memories I could have ever made.

    Laugh and play.
    Do it often, Dr. Jen’s orders.



    Me, now: I probably haven’t listened to myself as much as I should have. I flipped the workaholic switch this year, more times than I should have. BUT, I can recognize when I need to take a step back and just enjoy life, even if I don’t do it as much as I should.

    Take risks.
    Scared of heights (and ropes, and lack of floor)? Just do it. You’ll never really know what something is like unless you TRY.

            

    Me, now: I took a risk or two this year, and they’ve all paid off. I’m proud of myself for putting myself out there like that. When you’re vulnerable and raw, you can’t help but show your true self, and that’s what needed to be shown.

    Family should always come first. Yes, late nights and time away from them pay the bills, but never forget it’s THEM you do it for.

         

    Me, now: I am SO GLAD that I listened to this. Despite my workaholic ways, I ALWAYS made sure that family came first. And with Baby Boy on the way, I have a new appreciation for the priorities that I’ve set. Family is first. They’ve always been first. They will remain first forever.

     
    Think about all the people that you don’t understand and get to know them.
    You may find your best friend under the misjudgments.

    Me, now: I put forth the effort, and reconnected with several friends that had fallen by the wayside over the years. They are worth it.

    Apologize when you’re wrong AND when you know what you’ve done wrong.

    Me, now: I struggle with this. I tend to over-apologize, even when it’s not my fault.

    If you can’t say something nice, don’t waste your breath. (Save it for something more productive … like singing in the shower!)

    Me, now: One word: AMEN!

    2008 was a great year, but the best is still
    to come for us all. Cheers, 2009!


    Me, now: 2009 has run the gamut. I’ve seen both highs and lows, and I’ve survived them all. I am blessed with a terrific husband, awesome friends and family, and a beautiful baby boy on the way. 2009 had the best in store for us, for sure. Cheers again, 2009! I can’t wait for all that 2010 has to bring!