Month: April 2010

  • A note to (a few) “stay at home” moms.

    I went back to work this week. So far, so good, I suppose. Baby’s adjusting well to day care, and mommy’s still adjusting to leaving baby there.

    [pause]

    I’d like to take a minute to address a few “stay at home” moms I know. Please note: NOT EVERY “stay at home” mom is like this, but a few close to me are.

    Oh, the comments I get from some of them! It’s either how much of a blessing it is for them to “raise their child themselves” or they’ll lay on the “how could you leave your baby with strangers?!” guilt. “It’s such a shame you have to leave him every day”, they’ll say. “What if he calls them mommy?”, I’ll get. “I couldn’t imagine going to work until my kids were in school full-time. I didn’t want to miss a moment.” Continue reading

  • it’s time to grow up!

    As a little girl, I admired the grown-ups in my life. They always seemed to have the answers to everything. I didn’t know how or why, they just DID. Continue reading