April 1, 2010

  • it’s time to grow up!

    As a little girl, I admired the grown-ups in my life. They always seemed to have the answers to everything. I didn’t know how or why, they just DID.

     
    My daddy and me.

    It was the little things, you know? How they talked to one another or drove from place to place; scrunched their face as they paid bills or made decisions … I just watched them all in awe. One day, I thought, I want to do that.

    My inspiration, my momma.

    I always had it in my head that I’d be a grown-up at 18. That’s just when it would happen.

    Me at 18. Crazy, right?

    Coincidentally, that’s the same time that society deems a person an “adult”. And I’m sure you’d agree: there is a huge difference between being an adult and being a grown-up.

    Being an adult is something that is primarily tied to age. At 18, I could vote or buy a pack of cigarettes (if I smoked, lol). I could transition out of the teenage/high school-mentality and be surrounded with more adult situations.

    In fact, I found myself IN more adult situations, but I was far from being a grown-up about it all. When I didn’t have the answers, I would wing it, hoping I came across as “grown-up-ish” … something I didn’t always succeed at.

    I think that wisdom is what makes you more of a grown-up. Even at 27—with a baby—I still don’t think I’ve achieved true “grown-up” status. I don’t know that anyone ever does.

    Cooking for my husband. I’m all grown-up, right?

    Looking back, the grown-ups I admired didn’t always have the answers, either. They didn’t always know what to do … in a pinch, they would wing it, too. They had the same issues and problems that I run across every day, but they knew how to conceal it.

    We’re all always learning and growing, changing and evolving into the roles life throws at us. We’re only who and what we are in that moment—not always living up to the expectations we (or others) have set for our lives.

    And you know, I think I’ve discovered the secret of it all: maybe being a grown-up is simply admitting that you’re not one.

    After all, it’s an aspirational goal, not an inevitable one.

    Thank you to all the grown-ups in my life … my parents, my family, mentors and co-workers.
    You made me realize it’s okay to be a “work in progress!”

    My family-in-law. A-MA-ZING people.


    What grown-ups do YOU admire? Why?

Comments (14)

  • Great post (again, I am SOOOO excited that you are back)

    I admire my grandmother. So much of who I am came from her and what she taught me. I don’t think we ever really feel grown-up though lol

  • I’ve usually looked up to my dad.  But now that I’m taller than him, I still look up to him – but have to sit down to do so.  (ok, bad joke…but yeah, my dad)

  • Jen!!! I missed you too, buddy! Look at you. You’re back, all semi-grown up now. Congrats on the baby making skills (from this sentence alone you can see I’ve got a lot of growing up to do)!

    I’d like to think it all depends on your definition of growing up. Anyone can go out and pay bills, or do whatever it is grown ups are traditionally supposed to do. Personally, I think you’ve grown up (not completely) when you become a responsible and respectable rolemodel for someone. Be it a niece or nephew, son or daughter, someone you mentor, etc. Once you’ve begun to pass what you’ve learned in life so far onto someone else, you’ve grown up.

    You’re sticking around a bit longer this time, right? It’s good to see you back.

  • I look up to and admire those with integrity, honesty and a positive attitude regardless of the situation as grown ups. Your in-laws are definitely a-mazing people. How can one not be happy around them? Lucky duck! You have always been a grown up to me. You figured out before I did that having a 1 bathroom apt, is not a smart move way before I did. LOL. Love you!

  • this was great. I dont know if I admired any grown ups growing up. isnt that horrible? lol my dad sucked and my mom tolerated. she’s strong as a bull and I guess I admire her for that..

    You’re going to be such a great Mom… you had great teachers.. That is awesome!!

  • Welcome back Jen 

  • My youth pastor from high school (who is now the head pastor at my home church). He was real and one of the first people to be an example to me that leadership doesn’t mean being perfect.

    Anyway, I actually was telling someone the other day that I think part of finally becoming grown up is realizing that not every adult, as I was growing up, knew everything. I took too many cruel opinions to heart in my youth, believing that adults always spoke the truth. I’m glad that I can look back now and realize that I was wrong… and so were they.

  • you are so beautiful! as is your family :)

  • wait, is this a repost? I feel like I am having major deja vu.

    and it is good you’re back.

  • Wow. This was a cool post. I like that pic of you when you were 18. You look so different. but you are still just as beautiful

  • I admire most of my older relatives-Parents and grandparents, most definitely.  My driving instructor, HS Football Coach and several teachers are on the list.

    Your post is exquisite.

  • I love this post. I admire my parents and my grandparents who have passed. Looking back on all the fun times I had not realizing at that moment, that those were the times I would give anything to go back to.

  • Ah a little late on this, but my mother was my insipration and whom I thought was the ultimate grown-up.  She endured so much, was a single mother with two teenagers and a baby, and she survived, she did not give up, she did not sit on her hiney and expcet people to do for her.  She did for herself and others.  And in my lifetime I would love to be even half the grown-up she ever was.

    Now that she is gone, it is harder, but I have the memories, and know she is always with me.

  • I guess I haven’t read such unique material anywhere else online.reference

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *